Diwali was very good this year. It was Ashwini’s very first Diwali. From the way she was admiring all the ‘panatya’ that we put in and around the house, I am sure this is going to be her most favorite festival. My parents are visiting and my brother came by for the weekend too. So, we had a full house. It was a lot of fun making chakalyA and karanjyA on Friday. V found this new recipe for karanjyA with khavA rather than usual coconut. They turned out to be very nice.

Visited a cousin of mine on Saturday. They had made huge amounts of very very good food. Shrikhand-puri and puranpolyA. I don’t think I had ever eaten these two things at one meal. But, I took the opportunity to stuff myslef till I couldn’t sit up straight.

Their 6year old son is very bright and energetic. Always eager to do something. He reminds me of this story from childhood about a rAkshas that threatens: “give me some work or I’ll eat you.” ;)

Sunday was spent in shopping. Some more clothes for Ashwini, as if she doesn’t have enough. But, it is hard to walk out of those baby stores without buying anything for her. My brother wanted to eat vadA-pAv. So, the day ended in me making my patented batAtA vadAs. They turned out pretty well. Overall, the weekend was just great. Everything was just right. No problems. I really like that. Now, that the year started off with these great days, I hope to see more of them during this year.