I was aware of Indian Ghettos (area with large concentrations of Indians) in Edison, New Jersey and New York. But, I was surprised to find out that similar ghettos exist in California also. A friend of mine lives in Cupertino. In his apartment complex with 120 units, 110 are occupied by people of Indian origin. There are 25-30 marathi-speaking families. It came as a huge surprise to me.

I thought people from all different countries came to US recently to work in the silicon valley. Maybe, they all have different ghettos. Do people really feel comfortable only when they are living amongst others of similar ethnic background? I can imagine this being true a 100 years ago. That is why one can find little Italies, French quarters, Greektowns and Chinatowns in various big US cities. But, all of these Indians I am talking about have been in US for less than 10 years. I don’t think the discrimination of yesteryears is so prevalent that it would warrant such groupings.

Maybe, they want to be in a certain school district for their children. If anyone wondered about this, I would like to hear your thoughts.