After I wrote about the dust on the CCD of my Nikon D70 yesterday, did some digging around on the web and found that this is a common problem. Don’t have to hyperventilate, thinking that I did something wrong. Eventhough I take all the precautions such as, holding the camera pointing down while changing the lens, the process of changing lenses allows some dust to go inside. Especially, if it is done outdoors, which I do while attaching the camera to the telescope. So, the dust on CCD is going to be a fact of life for me and I shouldn’t worry about it.

Here are a couple of nice descriptions for cleaning the CCD:

  1. By Thom Hogan
  2. By Petteri Sulonen
The tools for cleaning the CCD:
  1. Sensor swabs
  2. Eclipse cleaner
I have already ordered my supplies for the cleanup. Hopefully, they will be here before the weekend and I can clean the camera for a weekend shootout.