We had a little incident today. Ashwini’s daycare teacher arranged an outing for all her kids and their families at Chuck-E-Cheese. This was our first time at this place. I can’t imagine that I never went to this fun place during my 13-14 years of stay in US.

On the way there, V took Ashwini and I went later. When I was going in, they stamped my arm with UV-visible ink like they do in nightclubs. I couldn’t figure out what it was all about. Then, V had to leave early to go for a work-related dinner and I stayed back with Ashwini to play for some more time. It was so much fun. All the noisy games and chances to win prizes… I think I had more fun than Ashwini.

Then, it was time to leave and I figured out what that stamp was all about. The Chuck-E-Cheese people were matching the stamps on the arms of children and adults that were carrying them out. Obviously my stamp didn’t match Ashwini’s and they wouldn’t let me out with her. I kept explaining to them what had happened, but, they wouldn’t listen. I tried calling V, but, I think she probably left the phone in the car. I was quite helpless. Couldn’t think of what to do next. Finally, after much arguing the manager came out. She talked with all of us in the group that were still there and agreed that Ashwini was really my daughter and I wasn’t stealing her. We were finally let out. In a way, it was comforting to see that they are so careful about this. I shall feel safe to go there with Ashwini again.