Finally, a meme about books that has been making circles in the blog world. Although I love to collect and read books, my book-reading habits have changed in last 2 years or so. 90% of the books that I read these days are children’s books. Hence, I am going to answer this questionnaire from my daughter’s perspective.

Total number of books I own: I have probably a hundred books and I am just two and a quarter years old. The picture above shows just a part of my collection. I love my books and I never ever tear them.

Last book I bought: Inch by Inch by Leo Lionni. The star of the book is an inchworm that can measure anything. A good story to learn the concept of measuring. This same author also wrote Swimmy.

Last book I read: Last night, I read The Three bears by Byron Barton (Illustrator), for the seven millionth time. I know the whole book by heart and can read it to you even though I don’t know all my alphabets yet.

Five Books That Mean a Lot to Me: (today’s opinion)

  1. The very hungry caterpillar by Eric Carle: This was the first book I ever laid my eyes on and I am still in love with that adorable caterpillar. This book has very colorful drawings of all my favorite fruits and a lollipop. It also got me started with counting and learning numbers. I have almost all the books written by Eric Carle and I like them all.
  2. We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Helen Oxenbury (Illustrator), Michael Rosen: It is a wonderfully illustrated book and the story is well written to sing along. The kids along with their father go out to hunt a bear. But, when they see one, they get scared and run back home.
  3. Owl Babies by MARTIN WADDELL, PATRICK BENSON (Illustrator): This is one of the most beautifully illustrated book. The owl babies seem so fluffy and real. Their faces show anxiety, sadness and joy very well. I like the story too.
  4. Hop on Pop by Dr. Seuss: I like the way this book has simple rhyming words. It is helping me learn how to read. I really liked the last word of the book: "seehemewe patpuppop hethreetreebee tophopstop". This is also President Bush's favorite book. After reading this book, I have learnt to hop on my dad's tummy and give him some exercise.
  5. The Going to Bed Book by Sandra Boynton: This is a very nice book that helps me learn all the things to do while getting ready for bed: taking a bath, brushing teeth, finding pajamas, finally turning off the light and say good night. I have most of Sandra Boynton's books. 'Hey! wake up' shows me all the things to do in the morning when I wake up. 'Moo Baa la' was my favorite when I was little. 'Doggies' teaches me how to count and 'A to Z' has all the alphabets.