Continuing our Summer of concerts, we went to see Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, last night. It was at the DTE energy music theater, north of Detroit. It is an open-air theater and was great for a Rock&Roll concert on a Summer evening. Due to horrible road construction and traffic jams, by the time we reached the venue, we missed almost an hour of performance by the opening band, “The Black Crowes”. It seems that Tom Petty’s plane got delayed and he reached the venue with his band about half an hour after us. So, they started playing at 8:45 pm, right after getting out of their limo.

Tom Petty didn’t release any new music recently and so, was not promoting anything new. Within first hour and 15 minutes, we got to hear all the songs that we knew… breakdown, free fallin', won’t back down, mary jane’s last dance, etc. It was a lot of fun to hear them all live. While in graduate school, we used to call “won’t back down”, the PhD song.

Hey, baby. There ain’t no easy way out. Hey yeah, I will stand my ground. And I won’t back down.

Well I know what’s right I got just one life In a world that keeps on pushin' me around But I’ll stand my ground And I won’t back down.

At 10pm, we decided to leave the concert and head home to relieve our babysitter. Overall, it was a great concert. Looking forward to U2 in October.