Every time I sit down for a proper ‘sit-down’ meal at a banquet or a reception, I instinctively choose the wrong set of glasses.

I am right-handed and I grew up eating food with my fingers. I still eat a lot of my meals at home with my fingers. For people who eat with their fingers, it makes sense to keep their glass of water on the left, so you can pick up the glass with the hand that is not involved in picking up food.

In US and Europe, When there are place-settings on a table, your glasses are always on your right. I have been told that many many times and I try to remember, but, every time I reach for a glass of water, it is usually the one on my left. I realize my mistake after I have made it and then, I have to exchange the glasses with my neighbour on the left side.

I have been through this so many times over all these years. Wonder how much longer I have to go before I remember to do it correctly. So, if you ever go to a banquet with me, and sit on my left side, I’ll probably hijack your glass of water.