Ashwini and I rushed out of the house this morning. As I strapped her in the car seat, the following conversation took place.

A: ha ha ha ha… You forgot to put my shoes on, Dada.

I realising the problem went back in the house and brough her shoes.

Me: I am sorry, Ashwini. We were leaving in such a rush, I forgot about your shoes. A: ha ha ha… WHATEVER. Me: What? A: WHATEVER.

That ‘word’ just hit me like a ton of bricks. I wasn’t ready to hear it from her mouth before her 3rd birthday. Heck, I didn’t want to hear it for at least 10 more years.

Maybe, it was just one more example of Ashwini repeating what she hears without understanding its meaning. But, it is uncanny how she uses these words in the right situations.

Or, I have a 2 year old on my hands that is going onto 12 in another month.