Ashwini received her influenza immunization this evening. While we were going to the Doctor’s office, she was a little apprehensive about getting a shot, but agreed to come along when I reminded that she’ll get a sticker and a lollipop there.

The nurse that gave her the shot was very good. She kept talking with Ashwini and finished the injection in a jiffy before Ashwini realized what was happening. Thankfully, there were no tears as she got excited with the ‘Sesame Street’ band-aid that was put on her leg. She picked a red lollipop and then it was time to choose a sticker. She made me very proud by picking one with the picture of Saturn in stead of a ‘Sesame Street’ character.

After coming home, Ashwini proudly showed off her new acquisitions from the Doctor’s office to V.

Ash: Look… I have a red lollipop and I have a saturn sticker. V: Wow. Ash: And look at this sesame street band-aid. V: Very nice. Ash: I got a shot and I didn’t even cry. Do you believe it? V: Noooo. I don’t believe it.

The answer to Ashwini’s “Do you believe it?” question has to be in the negative. If we ever say, “Yes, I believe it”, she reminds us that that is not correct and we have to say “no”.