It has been just over one week since V went to India. So many people have asked me about how I have been taking care of Adit without V. Many of my Indian male acquintances asked how I managed food without V around. Some of them went on further and told about the times when their wives went to India leaving them here. Before leaving, their wives cooked for 2 days straight and filled up the freezer for hubby to eat.

I wonder how many of them would have expressed the same concern about Adit’s welfare and V’s nutrition, if I was the one who was away. Not even a couple of them, I am sure.

Not to diminish the value of everything that V does in our family, but it is not so difficult to take care of myself and a 2 year old. It of course is harder than usual but definitely not unmanageable. Also, it is much easier to take care of one child compared to two. As I have mentioned before, caring for 2 kids takes the same amount of work as in five single kid families.

It just annoys me to no end that some men have 3 weeks worth of food made by their vacationing wives in the freezer, so that they don’t have to cook. If they are from my father’s generation, maybe it is OK. But, these are guys of my own age. I think they fall in the following 3 categories:

  • They are morons who can't take care of themselves and treat their wives as maids.
  • They are very shrewd and know how to keep their wives happy. 'Oh dear, I am going to miss you so much, at least cook some food for me that will make me feel that you are near.'
  • They are spineless and let their controling wives dictate their lives remotely by forcing them what to eat.

(On the other hand, there are guys like me who ride the high horse of feminism and gender equality to score some brownie points with THE WIFE.)

To everyone who is concerned about me and Adit: Thank you for being concerned. We are doing fine. We surely miss the ladies around the house, but we’ll survive till they get back in two weeks.