Ashwini and I were lounging on the couch the other day. I was reading “Sky and Telescope” and she was finishing off her last book of sudoku puzzles.

Ash: Daady, did you know that my friend x*** doesn’t have any boys at her home? Me: How come? Ash: x*** has two mommies and two grandmas; no daddy or brother. Me: Does she like that? Ash: Oh yes! She loves her mommies and I think it would be fun with no boys in the house.

I knew about this girl who joined Ashwini’s class a few months ago, but I didn’t want to ask her any questions. I was waiting for her to talk about her new friend. It is very nice that children at Ashwini’s age are getting exposed to these concepts of different family structures, before they form prejudices just from hearing things from others. It is also very commendable how her teachers have handled this issue in the classroom. I have a few gay and lesbian friends at work and outside. If and when we meet them socially with their significant others, I am glad that Ashwini surely won’t be surprised.