Partial Analemma.


Click to see a bigger version.



As the Earth makes its trek around the Sun, due to the inclination of Earth's axis, different parts of Earth get exposed to varying amount of sunshine during the changing day/night cycles and seasons happen. The position of Sun in the sky keeps changing all through the year. A curve representing this change throughout the year is called 'analemma'.

This photo shows the Sun on or around the important dates: the Winter and Summer Solstice and the Spring Equinox. Last December, I started capturing the Sun's position in the sky at the same time of the day. I don't have a full analemma yet and it may take a couple of years to get a complete one due to cloudy skies and my naptime on weekends. As I started this experiment, I didn't know if I was framing the photo correctly as I wanted to capture both the ends of this curve in the same frame. As it turned out, the framing was alright. Both the Solstices are covered in the photo. Now, I just have to work on getting enough photos at an uniform interval.