Watched “The Dark Knight” on Friday. It was well made but, was damn too long. There is only so much of loud explosions and bright flashes that my aging senses can take. In the end, with kidnapped wife and kids, I wasn’t sure if I was watching a Bollywood movie from the 80’s. Another annoying thing was how Batman spoke. I could hardly make out any words in that harsh gruff voice. Maybe it was the sound system in the ancient theater that we were in. All that elaborate costume was good enough to hide Bruce Wayne’s identity. Why did he need that horrible voice? OK, and the final complaint about the movie… miscasting of Batman’s love interest, played by Maggie Gyllenhaal. I just didn’t like her. Not just me but, V didn’t like her either. She looked weird. They should have found a more glamorous woman. And, did I mention that it was too long? They should have cut about 45 minutes from it.

Now, all the good stuff about the movie.

  • This was the first Batman movie that was more real-life-like and not like a comic book story.
  • The story was presented very well and at the right pace. It kept me on the edge of my seat. V was very sleepy when we got to the theater but, she didn't fall asleep in the movie.
  • Heath Ledger did an excellent job as Joker. He probably will get a posthumous oscar and he definitely deserves it.
  • All the Batman gadgets and special effects were awesome. I wouldn't mind riding his motorcycle.
  • The action sequences were very well done. I especially liked the extraction of the Chinese guy from Hong Kong and the one where Joker's 18 wheeler is flipped end-over-end.
If you haven't watched it yet (not likely), you must. Other than watching a good movie, you will also help break all the records set by "The Titanic". It is just disgusting that that crappy movie is all-time bestseller. Just be prepared to sit for a long time but, not as long as you did while watching the Titanic sink.