Got my eyes checked with the eye doctor. It was just a periodic check-up and I passed with flying colors. There are no horrible physical conditions: no glaucoma, no retinal detachment, no swelling of blood vessels and no macular degeneration. In terms of vision, it is 20/20. This doctor’s office had a machine that measured refractive index of the lens inside the eye. So, it doesn’t depend on your ability to read the chart from distance to figure out if a corrective lens is needed. I have very slight near-sightedness and it will compensate for loss of age-related focusing ability. That means it’ll delay the need for reading glasses by a few years.

I was very happy with this checkup knowing my eyes are in good health. On the other hand, I was a little sad that I won’t be wearing any eye-glasses anytime soon. That dashes my hopes of adding some ‘dignified look’ to my personality.