After hearing good reviews from @ani, @supremus and @cinemapaithiyam, decided to watch “Ponniyin Selvan”. It started off by showing appearance of a comet which was supposed to mean that the king was going to die. Fine! I am OK with that given the time period of the movie. But then, halfway through the movie, they show the said comet in front of clouds in the sky. WTF!!!! If a comet gets in the Earth’s atmosphere, it is a mass exctinction event not just a dead king.

Anyway, otherwise it is a well made movie. Another problem I had was that all the men actors in the movie looked alike with their beards and long hair. It was hard for me to keep track of who is who. It is just like watching Indian cricket. All the players look identical. No such problem with women actors though and they were the reason I kept watching the movie. It was also a struggle to keep up with the plot as I was reading the subtitles while exercising. I still have an hour or so left to watch. Hopefully, I’ll finish it during the next bike ride in the basement.