On yesterday’s hike, the trail was blocked by a flooded stream so I decided to go off trail and bushwhacked. The woods consisted of mostly mountain laurel and in places it got very crowded with barely any room to pass through. After I continued for about a quarter mile, I realized how bad idea that was. In these woods, there are black bears and packs of coyotes. If I had gotten into a den of these animals, it would have been bad. With the thick vegetation there was no way I could have run away from any animals. Hibernating bears probably were not much of a risk but, if there was a six pack of coyotes, that could have been trouble. Thankfully I found the other trail I was looking for through the woods and came out of it safely. Hopefully, I’ll think a little bit before undertaking such adventure next time.