If you come by our house these days in the evening, you’ll find Ashwini in this same pose. Recently, I bought a 2 liter container of soap solution for blowing bubbles. Hope it will last through this Summer.

  • Ashwini has been talking a lot. I am not sure how much of it she understands, but, she absorbs everything she hears like a sponge and repeats it just like a parrot. A couple of recent conversations:

    Ashwini was eating lunch. I brought some milk for her in a sippy cup without the lid, the way she uses it at her daycare. A: Where is the cap, dada? What is wrong with you?

    Ashwini was sitting at her ‘blowing bubbles’ spot, waiting for her Aai to come out. A: (screaming) Go away. Go away from me. V: (ran out to find A shouting at a tiny little spider) What happened, Ashwini? A: This spider is trying to get me.

    While drifting off to sleep a few days ago…. A: I love Aai, I love Dada, I love Ashwini, I love Dashrathking, I love Shantanu, and I love Wam from Wamayend.

  • The second most favorite activity after blowing bubbles is watering plants. Our veggie garden is very happy to receive plenty of water everyday.
  • She is becoming more and more independent every day.
  • Ashwini is getting better with numbers and alphabets. She knows all the numbers (can count and shows correct number of fingers) and almost all the alphabets (capital letters only). She recognizes signs on the road and tells Aai which exit to take on the way home. "3 and 1, thirty one. Turn here, Aai". Always calls out stop signs. "Stop sign!!! stoppp and go".
  • She is getting good at spinning stories. Her daycare teacher wrote about Ashwini describing the 4th of July weekend at a beach, playing with a beach ball. In reality, we never went to a beach and we don't even have a beach ball. Today she was telling us that she ate 'spooky spider sandwich' for lunch.
  • Ashwini's current favorite story these days is 'chal re bhopalya tunook tunook'. (sorry! english translation is not possible.)
  • Her current favorite fruit is mangoes.

This list could just go on and on but, I should stop and keep some stuff for more posts.